Benjamin D'Innocenzo - Mountbatten Program

Benjamin D’Innocenzo

Benjamin D’Innocenzo

A Day In The Life

Program: London

Intake: August 2010

Current Role: Lead Financial Analyst for the US Environmental Protection Agency


My Alarm Goes off … never, I wake up at 6:30 AM on my own every morning

I’m Responsible For… maintaining the EPA’s $300 million portfolio of financial assurance instruments for the western states including Colorado, Utah, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota.

I Got The Job… after returning from the Peace Corps in Cameroon where my Country Director had previously served in a leadership role at the EPA and recommended I apply to the agency.

My Typical Day… includes calls and coordination with banks, sureties, oil and gas operators mixed in with internal meetings and lots of Excel!

The Culture Of My Workplace… is one of the best I have ever encountered. It’s a fantastic mix of passionate scientists, field experts, attorneys and, most importantly, nature and environment lovers. People who know the value of hard work, but also the value in taking time to get out hiking or skiing.

My Most Memorable Work Moment… I was just finishing up a call with a bank executive, but, before we ended, this person thanked me for my service and expressed their gratitude for the people fighting the good fight on behalf of human health and the environment. This helped remind me of why I love coming to work everyday and that, despite the myriad challenges, progress can be made.

My Role Models are… Gina McCarthy, Bruce Brown and Peter Adeney

The Most Challenging Part of My Job… is trying to upskill enough to competently interact with field experts from every background imaginable: a morning meeting with our Bee Liaison (Yes, like the insect) and then an afternoon with our underground injectable carbon sequestration team, it’s fascinating and humbling to work with so many highly skilled individuals.

The Best Part of My Job… is the good feelings I get from the work, the salary and the incredible benefits and time off.

After Work… I typically bike home, head to CrossFit and have dinner with my wife, but these days: just swap out “bike home” with “already home” and “head to crossfit” with “shirtless muscle ups on my porch.”

Plan B:  If I wasn’t doing this… I would move to Italy and write romance novels – there’s still time for that yet.